Saturday, July 30, 2011

Sketchbook Journal - August

I owe a lot of credit to one of my favorite artists, Geninne Zlatkis. 
Her work inspires me so much!

Friday, July 29, 2011

Learning New Things

One of my goals when I was a little girl was to read the entire dictionary, from front to back.  I didn't get past first 5 pages, but still, I gave it a shot! 
Needless to say, I've always loved learning.  
So when I found out today that you could download free classes from schools such as Harvard, Yale, MIT, Berkeley, etc on iTunes U (I know - I'm way behind in these things), my heart did a little skip.
Here's a drawing lesson from Stephen Farthing R.A. at Oxford:    
http://itunes.apple.com/WebObj​ects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewPodcas​t?id=442428860
The Elements of Drawing - Download free content from Oxford University on iTunes 
itunes.apple.com 
Download or subscribe to free content from The Elements of Drawing by Oxford University on iTunes.

Happy learning! :)

Tuesday, July 26, 2011

New Sketch Tote

My good friend Leah sewed together this bag for me as a gift. 



Isn't it adorable??
 I loaded it up with some art goodies as soon as I could.  

Saturday, July 23, 2011

Quiet Eyes

A study that I did in soft pastel.  


Wednesday, July 20, 2011

Sketchbook Project 2012

My first sketch for the Sketchbook Project 2012, "It's Summer Where You Are."   I did this one during my little one's karate class earlier tonight. :)

Sunday, July 17, 2011

Calm....

...is a soothing vacation with my loving husband..... and a cup of tea in hand.

(While we were at the Chesapeake Bay this weekend, I sketched this Tazo tea wrapper.
I already miss our relaxing get-away!)


Thursday, July 14, 2011

Sketchbook Journal - July

Packing for the Chesapeake!


Monday, July 11, 2011

Fox

Pencil drawing that I did earlier this year.  8.5" x 11"

Sunday, July 10, 2011

On my bookshelf...

One of my bookshelves.  Books are such treats!  Which goodies are on your shelves?

Saturday, July 9, 2011

Love Birds

I finished my Parrots in Love today.  :)

Thursday, July 7, 2011

Inspiration: Nat King Cole

When I want to get away from the world and paint for a little while, Nat King 
Cole is one of my favorites to listen to on my iPod.

Nat King Cole - "Embraceable You"




What are your favorites when you're painting, crafting, cleaning, gardening, baking, etc?

Wednesday, July 6, 2011

Calf in Charcoal

drew this little guy about a year ago; but, since I'm a brand-new art blogger, I wanted to share him here with you too. :)

Sunday, July 3, 2011

Love Birds

I spent some of my afternoon watercoloring my Love Bird sketch today.  Almost finished!


Saturday, July 2, 2011

Sketchbook Journal - July




I found some pretty pressed flowers today and added them to my journal. :)